Editorial Board for the SCHS Cougar Tales Yearbook (from left to right) Mia Waelchli, Iulia Dobrin, Sujin Lee, Kristen Blaty, Christine Korejwo, Mallory Wellhausen

The 2017-2018 SCHS yearbook received a 1st place ranking with a mark of distinction in Writing & Editing from the National Scholastic Press Association. Entries are judged by teams of professionals based on the following criteria: coverage and content, quality of writing and reporting, leadership, design, photography and graphics. The NSPA is considered to be one of the most prestigious award bodies in high school journalism, comparable to the Pulitzer Prize. The 2017-2018 SCHS yearbook also won the Spartan Award from the Michigan Interscholastic Press Association, Michigan State University’s most prestigious student journalism award.