U.S. Department of Education Secretary Betsy DeVos awarded three schools within the Rochester Community School District with National Blue Ribbon status for 2017. Only 13 schools were nominated statewide. Brewster Elementary, Hamlin Elementary, and Rochester Adams High School received recognition under the 2017 National Blue Ribbon Program. The three schools join two other Rochester Community Schools, Musson Elementary School and Van Hoosen Middle School, who earned National Blue Ribbon status in 2014.